16 Songs for Your Playlist: Natasha Bedingfield, Vanessa Carlton, Evanescence, and more

Here are some songs I’ve recently discovered and almost all of them are on repeat on my speakers. I hope you enjoy them as much as me.

Turn It Up – Taryn Manning
Check out the latest catchy dance tune from the singer/actress with a raspy voice. If you haven’t heard her stuff as one-half of Boomkat (her brother is the other half), I also recommend tuning in to their unique sound. The Wreckoning (below) is a good place to start.


After the jump: Music from TV shows, such as Cougar Town, The Big C, Hart of Dixie, Revenge, etc.

Disaster – Jojo*
With this song, Jojo doesn’t stray too far from her other albums, but if there was any doubt she has the pipes, doubt no more.

Easy – Rascal Flatts and Natasha Bedingfield
I love these two artists separately, and together, they make for a terrific, albeit surprising, duet. Their voices complement each other well, and the song’s stanzas have beautiful lyrics. At first listen though, the chorus is kind of lame in terms of lyrics and tune. Still, you get used to it and/or you’re willing to overlook it because it’s a pretty good duet—almost like Kelly Clarkson and Jason Aldean on the song, Don’t You Wanna Stay. It’s pop and country coming together again on a ballad. Hmmm… I sense a trend.

You Are Mine – Enter the Worship Circle*
If you like country music, you should start watching the new fall show, Hart of Dixie. There is as much music as there is dialogue. I first heard this one in the pilot episode and while it’s religious, it’s also just about love in general.

The Last Day on Earth – Kate Miller Heidke
Here’s another song I heard on TV and loved it. It played during a pivotal scene in The Big C‘s awesome second season. If this bittersweet song isn’t your type, don’t give up on the singer yet. Her other songs are actually more upbeat, like Lenka’s, if that’s your thing.

Paper Airplane – Allison Krauss and Union Station
I was nothing short of impressed with Krauss’s vocal stylings of her new lullaby-like tune. There’s an official video, but I think she’s better live.

I Want You Back – The Civil Wars
They’re my new favorite band—and one of the very few I’d pay to see live. I have two favorite songs of theirs and this is one of them (starts at 1:15 in the video). It’s a cover of the Jackson 5 hit, which is also great in itself. See how the duo makes it better and totally their own—so much so that at first, I thought it was an original song.

Poison and Wine – The Civil Wars
This is my other favorite song from the twosome. Here’s just a snippet of the powerful lyrics: “I don’t have a choice but I still choose you / I don’t love you but I always will.”

Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars
Here’s an extra bonus. I included it because it undeniably shows that the musical direction they’re going in is nothing like what’s on the radio at the moment. Also, unlike most of the songs in this post, it’s a non-ballad.

What You Want – Evanescence
That’s right. The band is back with a new single, which is more pop than rock, but still good. After you watch it, let me know if, for some weird reason, it reminds you of Phil Collins’ Susudio, too, or if it’s just me.

The Pursuit of Happiness – Nuno Bettencourt*
As heard on Cougar Town

Phoenix Burn – Alpha Rev*
Aside from TV shows, you know how else you can stumble on good songs? Wait until the end credits of a movie, that’s how. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice was playing on the boob tube and while I saw it in theaters, I wouldn’t have heard this song if I’d flipped channels as soon as the credits rolled.

Carousel – Vanessa Carlton
Even though her current single is less of a pop outing, it’s no less fairy tale-like.

For You – Angus and Julia Stone*
“If you love me, with all of your heart / If you love me, I would make you a star in my universe.” The beautiful song appeared on another fall show, Revenge (aka my new guilty pleasure). If you’re a Grease fanatic, they’ve also notably covered You’re the One That I Want (below). And if you haven’t heard of the performer yet, you will. They’re going to be on the Breaking Dawn soundtrack.

*Not an official video

Share

Leave a Reply

