TV Show You Should Watch: ‘The Killing’

'The Killing' stars Joel Kinnaman and Mireille Enos.

With the slew of mystery shows on television, you’d think you couldn’t add anymore to your DVR. Well, you should. If any channel can bring a fresh take on the genre, it’s AMC, home of Mad Men and Breaking Bad.

Another thing that gives The Killing credibility is its creator, Veena Sud, who’s an alum of another good show, Cold Case. Sud has revamped a hit Dutch TV series, and in its first season, the US version seeks to solve one mystery: Who killed Rosie Larsen?

In 13 episodes, the show follows two detectives (Mireille Enos and Joel Kinnaman) as they rifle through suspects, the young girl’s grieving family as they cope with their loss, and a councilman (Billy Campbell) as he runs for mayor.

As soon as you get through a couple of minutes of the pilot, you’ll see why The Killing is different. Since it’s on cable, it’s darker and more chilling from the theme song to the cinematography to the story lines.

And the acting! It’s superb. I think they could have found a better lead than Enos because while she has an Emmy nom, I think she lacks the likability factor of, say, Anna Torv of Fringe. You’re not really rooting for Enos. Also, if NBC could get Maria Bello for Prime Suspect, AMC could have probably gotten a better name and actress.

However, up-and-comer Swedish actor, Kinnaman, kills it. Not only does he get rid of his accent, but he emerges as a ghetto-talking cop, saying things like, “Chill, girlfriend.” He also exudes goodness on screen, and that makes him a fan favorite, someone you root for.

The actors who play Larsen’s mourning parents are brilliant as well. The show kicks off with a two-hour season premiere and I was in tears by the end of it. I wasn’t expecting that AT ALL. The episode just crept up on me. Indeed, one of the many online reactions you’ll find is that there are others out there who found it sad, too. (Yay! I’m not alone/pathetic.)

The show kicks off with a two-hour season premiere and I was in tears by the end of it. I wasn’t expecting that AT ALL.

The only more popular opinion is how much people hated the season finale, BUT that’s mainly because almost everyone (including me), thought that the killer would be revealed, but apparently he/she wasn’t. Even though I didn’t know that little piece of info at the time, I actually thought the ending was fine. I even thought they had captured the killer.

Apparently not.

Other people thought the episide was ambiguous and I guess it was meant to be so. Sud herself said that the resolution will bleed into season 2.

That’s right. Don’t expect to know who killed Rosie Larsen by the end of season 1.

As long as you keep that in mind, I think you can still enjoy the last episode because the only real problem people had with it was that their questions weren’t answered.

The only other criticism I had was that I wish the writers had stuck with the second-to-the-last suspect (let’s call him/her Suspect A—to avoid spoilers) and not the “last suspect” (Suspect B) because Suspect A was soooo much better.

When Suspect A was looking like he/she was the murderer, my mind was blown! Like, whoa! I thought it was genius because it was (1) unexpected and (2) it would have plenty of repercussions for future story lines.

Then, suddenly, it wasn’t Suspect A, but Suspect B and my reaction was: LAME.

Again, since the finale didn’t reveal the perp, the good news is that it might not be Suspect B anymore. It could still be Suspect A or someone as surprising, I hope.

So, be sure to get into it before season 2 starts in 2012! If you’re like me, you’ll only need one day for all 13 episodes. It’s so addictive, it’s a crime.

Share

Leave a Reply

