A Playlist for Rihanna

“I’m sorry.”

Two words that can mean nothing or everything.

In Chris Brown’s case — nothing.

Brown recently released his second video apology for hitting singer Rihanna, his girlfriend at the time. New York magazine’s headline on the story sums it up: “Monster Speaks, Part Two.”

That and fake.

In an attempt of sincerity, I’ve compiled a mixtape for Rihanna or anyone in a similar situation. The 27 songs below all have links to the MP3 download or album with lyrics or a video to go with them. Mostly pop songs, there’s also some rock, folk, alternative and R&B music, including items from Rihanna’s music idols.

The playlist is a blend of songs for both wallowing and moving on with anything and everything. I hope you enjoy it.

If not, I’m sorry.

1. Apologies-Grace Potter and the Nocturnals

2. Even Angels Fall-Jessica Riddle

3. Stupid Boy-Keith Urban

4. Blinsided-Bon Iver

5. World Spins Madly On-The Weepies

6. Breathe No More-Evanescence

7. Don’t Wanna Try-Frankie J

8. Pain-Dream

“You know I wish you wouldn’t lie to me / But some wishes don’t come true / Time to put the past behind me, say good-bye, start anew”

9. Gotta Get Over You-Aslyn

Skip to 1:33:

10. Built This Way-Samantha Ronson

11. Selfish-Asia Cruise

12. Can I Go Now-Jennifer Love Hewitt

13. Sober-Kelly Clarkson

14. Miss You Love-Silverchair

15. Breakdown-Mariah Carey featuring Krayzie Bone and Wish Bone

16. It’s Not Right but It’s Okay (Remix)-Whitney Houston

17. He Wasn’t Man Enough-Toni Braxton

18. Tears Dry on Their Own-Amy Winehouse

19. I Never Loved You Anyway-The Corrs

20. Missing You-John Waites and Allison Krauss

21. All Will Be Well-The Gabe Dixon Band

22. Sober-Jennifer Paige

23. Lie Low-Plumb

“You didn’t care about me / So I packed my bags /And left you to wonder/ What you could have done better”

24. I’m Not Missing You-Stacie Orrico

25. Unfoolish-Ashanti

“I think I finally found my strength to finally get up and leave / No more broken heart for me … No more givin’ you everythin’ / There’s no more takin’ my love from me”

26. So Good-Destiny’s Child

27. Just Dance-Lady Gaga


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s